Latest News Articles

August 23, 2018

After years of advocacy from anti-poverty organizations across Canada, the federal government has launched the long-awaited national poverty reduction strategy – Creating Opportunity for All: Canada’s First Poverty Reduction Strategy.

Citizens for Public Justice (CPJ), a national faith-... full post »

June 23, 2018

"As of today we are Martin Luther University College" says Principal Dean Rev Dr. Mark Harris.

June 23, 2018

Keith Myra, Treasurer and Wendell Grahlman, Secretary were both re-elected at the Eastern Synod Assembly 2018.

Congratulations to both of them!


June 22, 2018

The following people were elected to attend National Convention:

Lay Delegates elected: Gail Bennie, Nancy Cook, Denise Dennis, Susan Dupuis, Edward Evans, Carol Fairbrother, Karen Field, Dorothy Frook, Brenda Grebinski, Jan Hansen, Brian Janzen, E. Joanne Klein, Laurie... full post »

June 22, 2018

Congratulations Laurie!

Laurie was elected two years ago and quickly became an integral part of the team. Having retired from her career in banking, she now has more time to spend doing what she loves; cooking, baking and travelling. She and her husband Jim recently moved from London to... full post »

June 21, 2018

Congratulations Bishop Michael Pryse!

Ordained on June 7, 1985, he served in Mildmay, Neustadt and Burlington before becoming an Assistant to the Bishop in 1990.This year marks the 20th anniversary of his election as Bishop of the Eastern Synod. Collecting countless frequent... full post »

June 20, 2018

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC) National Bishop Susan C. Johnson has written a letter to the church on World Refugee Day 2018.

Download a pdf of the letter here:... full post »

June 06, 2018

A delegation from the Eastern Synod, including Bishop Pryse, Laurie Knott and Rev Riitta Hepomaki visited the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Guyana, our companion church. This year marks the 275th anniversary of the ELCG.
Here is the report of the trip:




... full post »

April 23, 2018

Every two years, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC) and the Anglican Church of Canada (ACC) host a national gathering of youth and their leaders.

CLAY 2018 will take place on August 15-19, 2018 in Thunder... full post »

April 19, 2018

In recognition of Earth Day on April 22, 2018, we invite you to join us in praying for the humility and discipline to use Earth’s resources wisely and responsibly.

We begin by praying the rule of Life, from Gospel-based Discipleship of Indigenous... full post »